“Everyday Will Be Beautiful”

A Muslim raises his hands in Takbir, marking t...

Image via Wikipedia

As I faced a congregation of people

Who looked liked me

Men who wore small hats

Women who were wrapped

They screamed out

“ALLAHU AKBAR”

3 Times proceeding a

“Takbir”

I recited the shahada and repeated it after the imam said it

I stood in front of us

I stood together with others in this nation

I confessed to “La ilaaaha illallah Muhammad-ur Rasululah”

I smiled, but felt certain

That this life I was about to live was going to be different

It was going to be different from my old way of life

I was going to pray like them

Fast like them

Read quran like them

and as I went with the women

A sister told me

“Everyday will feel beautiful”

Leave a Reply

