The Feeling of Nostalgia

The feeling of nostalgia sweeps over me
like night covering day
clinging onto years
months
weeks
days
of those previous moments with people and things
Feeling stuck between this moment and the moment before
The clicking of the clock proceeds forward
just like ol’ summer proceeding every spring
just like every life springing forth another death
never wanting to go forward
always seeking to linger in the past
forgetting that each day brings forth new choices to make
new people to meet
new problems to confront
trifling with the reality of my existence
finding the world as being fast-paced
uncertain
scary
exciting
provoking
understanding that time is the one thing that I should take seriously
understanding that each ticking of the clock
represents a step closer I am to returning to the one that created me
that placed within my heart worship
that guided me with purpose
that guided me with Islam

Leave a Reply

