A Moment Away from the World

the birds sung to me today
as I sat among them in a valley
far from the city and its noise
catching rays that shone from paradise
rejoicing in its bliss
I cried up to He above the heavens
to hear my somber plea for a place
in His paradise
maybe even the lowest of levels
just so that I could see His face
just so that I could hear the voice of the beloved Rasul
my heart fluttered as the clouds separated
reaching forth with my worldy hands to beg of He
my tears had fled from these windows that sometime would open and close
not wanting the world to stare long enough to see
my deepest fears that lies within
I closed my eyes to fall asleep to songs only sung by birds
a shine only shone from paradise
and a peace only found in a valley

Leave a Reply

