The Dancing Woman of Lahore

I found my body moving
like the swaying of prairie grass
on a windy day
I felt my hips rocking
to the shifting of the wind
My heart joined me
in this dance for two
the morning’s sun
had pierced something within me
taking me on a journey
where no one has been
sinking my feet within the Earth
my hands join in unison
to this morning dance
mumbling words of love, peace and tranquility
dancing among these open plains
giving my all to this dance
no limitations
just freedoms
bellowing out words of rejoice and sakina
to only find myself day-dreaming
in the midst of busy Lahore

Leave a Reply

