The Unveiling of the Person in the Mirror

One of the hardest things for any of us to do is to accept the person we see in the mirror. The reality of the matter is that we know ourselves better than anyone else in this world. I can honestly say that this is definitely a hard thing for me. I think we can be our own worst critics, but I think we can sometimes over-estimate ourselves. Of course, we should strike a balance in our lives. However, if we were brutally honest and sought to uncover the multiple layers of our very being than many of us would be quite shocked to find out who we really are.

This unveiling of our deepest selves is scary. It really is. This is quite similar to peeling back the layers of an onion. The act of peeling away ourselves is brave, scary, victorious and possibly rewarding. In my bucket-list of things to do in this life, I want to unfold the layers of my being. I’ve tried to peel back the various layers of my identity, but I think I sometimes get scared and just stop. I think one of the worst feelings in the world is denying your true feelings. I’m not for lying just for the sake of lying, but I think if you’re unable to be honest with yourself than how can you be honest with another individual? And I think it is really interesting how someone can tell you about you. This may sound ironic, but it isn’t. If someone is close to you then they are capable of pinpointing things that you’ve may not have seen before.

Over the last few days, I’ve found myself struggling with the unveiling of my true self. On one hand, you can totally think the world about yourself. However, you can totally be the opposite. I’m not saying that this whole thing is easy to do because it isn’t. My own weirdness isolates me from people which pushes people away. Sometimes I believe that solitude can drive you insane. I think your thoughts can sometimes overwhelm you and cause you to shrivel up internally. I definitely do believe that socializing is healthy because we need human-interaction. However, too much socialization can make us forget about ourselves and our needs and wants.

With anything, there needs to be insight. The mirror will always remain distorted if we aren’t willing to accept who we are. We don’t have to be okay with what we find as we peel away the layers of ourselves, but we have to face what we find. I have several weaknesses and several strengths, but I have a problem with admitting them. I think that the unveiling of our beings can unravel so many things internally. Sometimes we’re just caged birds trying to catch flight. We are sometimes prisoners of our own thoughts and emotions. So, the unveiling of the person in the mirror can be the key to unlock what is hidden from within.

One thought on “The Unveiling of the Person in the Mirror

Leave a Reply

