To The Girl Encountering Womanhood

Image

Her smile echoed hurt

a hurt pregnant with regret

“He wasn’t the right one” crawled from between her teeth 

in a voice hollowed out in uncertainties

“He wore a rubber” in defense of what she cradled in her hands

“My dear, there is nothing to be ashamed of” were words I mumbled to a mother of 16

What was I to do? Was I to scold her for being sexual? Was I to blame her solely for a matter in which it takes two to tangle?

She smiled

“Lauren, I want to be a basketball player and be a scientist”

and without hesitation, I told the body of two to

“Go after your dreams”

and she smiled again

 

 

Leave a Reply

