Yes, This Is A Poem For That Man

This poem is for the man that never questioned my ability to shoot for the stars, to dance with the angels, to fire off a revolution within my soul

Yes, this is a poem for that man.

For a man that never sought to shrink me, hide me and protect me from the world

Yes, this is a poem for that man

For a man that loved every ounce of me tenderly and passionately without complaint and disdain.

Yes, this is a poem for that man

For a man that understood that I am to be loved whole and not in parts. That I am my own person, my own woman without limitations.

Yes, this is a poem for that man

For a man that knew I could swallow him whole and without regret if he ever sought to fit me in a box of a prescribed gender role

Yes, this is a poem for that man

For a man that never questioned the complexity of my very being even when I found it easier at times to shrink myself for the world around me

Yes, this is a poem for that man

For a man that shared with me a new world that I never knew of before. A world that I soon came to find liberating and exhilarating. A world that provoked me to open up my wings and to fly beyond my own limitations

Yes, this is a poem for that man

For a man that understood that I am deserving of taking up space with my body and voice. And that welcomed the challenges I beckoned him with in my own observation and participation within the world.

Yes, this is a poem for that man

For a man that truly loved dangerously and without regret.

image

Leave a Reply

