Making Today Count

image

    I have come to realize that life will happen no matter what. The time will pass. Events will occur. So, what does this mean to all of us? How do we fit in this reality of life? It’s simple. We advocate for the life we wish to live.
      Yes, I guess this sounds a bit too simple, but does everything have to be hard? We have the power to decide how we live each and everyday. I can complain each day about how I hate my job, but my complaints mean absolutely nothing if I’m not making moves to change my condition. I can wallow in my own sorrows about wanting to go back to school, but it’s not going to happen if I don’t make it a reality.
        We create our own reality. Or someone else can make it for us. I’ve always loved the saying, “If you don’t follow your dreams than you’ll help someone else with their’s”. We can make and break ourselves. We can either pull ourselves up by the bootstraps and get in the ring or simply let things occur. I must admit that I am guilty as charged. I am my own enemy. If there isn’t an enemy internally than you don’t have to worry about enemies outside of yourself. Just like everyone else, I have passions and dreams. I have things that I want to do and experience. So, it’s up to me to make it happen. It takes courage and determination.
       Interestingly enough, I believe that it sometimes takes being alone with yourself to figure things out. Also, it does sometimes help to listen to trusted friends. I will not say all the time, but sometimes. One of the best pieces of advice I’ve been given is to figure out myself and what I want. We can’t rely on others to make us happy. We can’t depend on others to give us the answers to life. We have to sometimes figure things out on our own. The most rewarding feeling for me is when I am able to get through something on my own. It is this self-sufficiency that causes me strive more in life. You have to know how to navigate life on your own and on your own terms. The problem comes when we depend too much on others because it means we are unable to do without them. Malcolm X once said that the oppressed had to create their own businesses, media outlets and livelihood, so they wouldn’t have to depend on their oppressor (s). How true is this? If you’re able to think for yourself then you don’t have to wait for someone to think for you. If you have your own crops then you don’t have to worry about how you’re going to eat. If you have everything that you need then you don’t have to worry about dependency to an extent. However, I do believe that all of us are dependent upon one another as a global community. Nevertheless, we usually try to figure things out on our own on a daily basis.
     So, what exactly am I saying out of this rant? I am simply saying that we do hold alot of power internally. Sometimes it does take us to just realize that we are powerful. Yes, it’s sometimes frightening to imagine that we can be a powerhouse in and of ourselves, but it’s plausible. Why isn’t it? Who said that you can’t be and do what you want? You are the captain of your own ship. So, start navigating it in a way that you feel fits. Conquer those dreams of yours and don’t turn back. You have work to do. You have things to accomplish. So, make today count. Make today the start of a new beginning.

2 thoughts on “Making Today Count

Leave a Reply

