We Change Like Seasons

image

    It’s that time again! The weather becomes colder. The leaves start to change. People bundle up in jackets. The kids sip on hot drinks. Mornings reek of pumpkin muffins and buttermilk pancakes. Yes, it’s that time. It’s autumn. Like seasons, we are constantly changing and undergoing the uncertainties of life.
      Most of us will agree that life a year, two years, ten years or twenty years ago was different from today. We are not the same person we were months or years ago. We all undergo various transformations. We all find ourselves passing through spaces and meeting new people. In being people of constant change, I do believe that we will never be the same person we were before meeting new people or experiencing different things.
         I believe that experiences and the meeting of new people can forever change you for life. Our minds will transform as we explore the world and ourselves. I do not know if its ever possible to be a certain way all of your life. Maybe it is, but I know that within the last few years of my life I have grown. I have extended my heart in ways that are extraordinary and unbelievable. I will never forget the first time that I went swimming. I will never forget the first time I had Mexican sweetbread. I will never forget the first time I held a man close to my body to the extent that I could feel breath on my neck causing my heart to race. I will never forget the first time I realized I could be equal to men. There are just things I can never forget because it has made me who I am.
        Who we are and what we are can only be determined by us. I am the culmination of my experiences, the people I’ve met, the people I’ve loved, and the spaces I’ve entered. I am relatively happy about this. I’m not proud of every choice or mistake that I’ve made, but I am content. I want to live my truth. I have come to the point in my life in which it is more important to live in a way that is truthful than in a way that is a lie. I want to live consciously. I do not want to live in regrets. I do not want to deny myself what feels right to me, but it’s a lot harder than that. I will admit that, but I will be never give up on living out my truth. My truth may not be your truth. That’s okay. We all have to figure out what is best for us.
        One thing that is true about seasons is that they will always remind us about the nature of life. Life is constantly changing and challenging us. It causes us to dive into circumstances at the most unexpected times. It causes us to find ourselves in relationships that will always leave a soft spot in our hearts. It causes us to smile in the hard times because we know that we can get through them. Life isn’t stagnant. It doesn’t stand still. It forever moves and pushes us into unimaginable directions.
       

2 thoughts on “We Change Like Seasons

  1. wait a minute!  

    have you ever thought of the fact that we just can’t change somethings? that some facts of life just must be accepted as they are? 

    why can’t winter come in summer and Autumn in winter?

    or why can’t we demand that winter and summer be made equal? things like season equality? everyone comes to the beach with bikini during winter too!

    well you answer is as good as mine. 

    don’t let’s be fooled!  changing from good to bad is not the same as changing from bad to good! 

    Send from Samsung Mobile

Leave a Reply

