You

image

I can remember fingers dug into skin
Hands gripping hips
Lips intertwining
Tears bleeding forth/gushing forth like menstrual blood

You loved me.
You loved the parts I couldn’t love
You loved the person I was learning to love

I can remember intense conversations at 3 am
Morning breakfast with the sun’s gaze reaching over us
Silent prayers before our meals
Watching trains pass on tracks against bridges
Seeing light reflect upon the river

You loved me
You loved the parts I couldn’t love
You loved the parts I was learning to love

I can remember the times in which you caught my tears
I can remember when you hugged me so tight you melted the broken pieces together
I can remember when you fed me when I lacked money to feed myself
I can remember the long ride to places when I wanted to give up, but you pushed me to keep going

You loved me
You loved me for me
You loved me for who I was, what I am and who I became

You loved me
You loved me
But more importantly, you taught me to never give up on myself.

One thought on “You

Leave a Reply

